The alarm guy is here installing an extra keypad upstairs and some other little things.  So while he does that, I will do this.  I’ve been reading this book called “It’s About Your Husband” by Lauren Lipton.  It’s total fluff which is fine by me when I need a break from reading things that are too serious.  The book I read before this one was very serious – it was about a mother and daughter and what they went through with the daughter’s drug and alcohol addiction.  It was good as far as being compelling reading, but their writing style (they team-wrote it) was very bland.  I don’t think they wrote about a single smell other than when the daughter chose to quit bathing for two months … anyway, after reading a book like that, I wanted a fun, light read.

You know, there is a very big difference between fun, light reading that is quality and that which is crap.  This book definitely fell into the craptacular file.  It was so bad that last night I finally decided that I was going to jump ahead, confirm my suspicions of what was going to happen in the book, and put myself out of my misery.  I was right about the ending, so I feel justified in my actions.  I wish she could’ve surprised me somehow, but I knew it wasn’t going to happen.  She hadn’t yet, so why start being Tricksy Magoo at the last possible second?  The actual writing wasn’t too bad – it was just so bloody predictable.  On top of that, it was not really at all plausible, therefore, I quit the book!  I am curious, though, about how it is that she and I both came to the same unrealistic conclusion for her characters.  Hmm, strange.

Luckily for me, my new books that I ordered arrived today.  I got “Night Fall” by Nelson DeMille, “How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy” by Orson Scott Card, and “Characters and Viewpoint” also by Orson Scott Card.  I’ve never written anything Sci-Fi/Fantasy, but I’ve always wanted to.  No, that’s not true.  I wrote a little fantasy when I was a kid and when I was in high school.  I really enjoy reading the genre, particularly (no surprises coming here) Tolkien and J.K. Rowling.  Speaking of my writing, I’ve only written short stories – no novels.  I’d love to write a novel.  However, in all honesty, I haven’t written a short story or anything other than a short little character bit or a tiny idea scribble in two years.  That’s just awful, I know.  Maybe this will get me back in the habit of daily writing which would help a ton!

And last for today, a weird dream I had last night:  I dreamed I was at a wedding with my ex-husband.  Oh dear Lord, help me, how gross!  We walked into the church, and this couple we used to know (who divorced years and years ago – he’s now on marriage number three, persistent little fucker) were the ones getting married.  Strangely, they were sitting in the pews, third row, he in a suit, she in a white sundress.  We said hello and then went to find seats.  Our son appeared out of nowhere and led us to the balcony area.  We saw my parents across the church and waved.  All seemed well if you leave out the bit where I was very confused about being anywhere with the ex. 

Blake and Kim took their places at the front of the church, simply by walking from the third row up to the front together, and the ceremony began.  We could hardly hear the preacher.  Kim’s dress changed into a rather unattractive green suit, and she was wearing an enormous white straw hat with a pink veil.  I was trying not to laugh when an alarm pierced the air.  We were all looking around, trying to figure out what it was, and then the preacher said it was the fire alarm and we had to evacuate.  People panicked, but since we were in the balcony, it was easier for us to get out, thanks to a thoughtfully placed exit right by our seats (thank you, Dream Control Central – and thanks to Jake Johannsen for that expression).  By the time we got outside, they decided it was a false alarm and we all headed back in.  Kim was waiting at the door, this time in a more traditional wedding dress with a sweetheart neckline.

We took our seats once again, and out of nowhere my ex starts yelling at me, “I don’t want to have sex with you!  Please get the idea out of your head!”

I yelled back, “What are you talking about?  I already had the miserable experience of having sex with you for nine years!  Why would I want to do that to myself again?”

And then I woke up.  Very disturbing to say the least.  *shivers up my spine* 

