I was on my way to the rink today when I saw this billboard:

“When you speak, make your words soft and sweet … in case you ever have to eat them.”

I need to keep that in mind.  All the time, yes, but especially when speaking to the bastard-asshole ex.  Oh dear, that was neither soft nor sweet.  Well, it is day one of this little project.

Another project I am working on is the Make Less of Me Project.  I’m on the Biggest Loser Club diet.  It’s not bad.  I’ve been on it for one week and one day, and I’ve lost four pounds.  Sixteen to go.  I’ve found a nice support group there as well, so I’m happy.  My biggest problems are a) an unwillingness to exercise away from the rink, and b) when I am at the rink, I’m there for many hours and I miss many meals and snacks, which means when I get home at 2:30 in the afternoon, I am half-starved, and let no man stand betwixt me and the food.  Well, today was my first day back at the rink since December 19, and I was so happy to be there.  It was so awesome to see everyone again and to get back on the ice.  And yes, when I got home, I was so starved that I seriously wondered if I should continue to stand up.  But I behaved.  I ate my yogurt and raisins, and then I waited for about an hour, and then I had my little lunch.  So for once, I did not eat half a box of Triscuits the second I walked in the door. 

Duke, my coach, decided over the break that he hasn’t been pushing me hard enough.  It’s true.  We have so much fun sometimes that it’s hard (for me, anyway) to remember we’re supposed to be working my ass off.  So before we started, we just skated around the rink for a while, chatting and catching up, and then once we started, it was all very hard work.  On trips to the boards for kleenexes and water, we got to chat, but then it was right back to work.  That said, my ankles are killing me (there is a lot of ankle-rolling involved in ice dancing – though he calls it bending my ankle more … to the sides.  Ick), and my thighs are quite shaky.  Good times!

The third project I had in mind was to get the Christmas decorations down.  I was supposed to do that after lunch, but I got all involved with reading blogs and email, etc., that I have yet to start.  Ugh.  At this point, I’m like, if the tree is down before Valentine’s Day, it is a victory! 

