This week I figured it out:  Decaf Peppermint Mocha, fat free, no whip.  This keeps the lovely sugary syrup in, which means it tastes freaking awesome!  I don’t miss the whole milk or the whipped cream at all.  I also got a reduced fat blueberry coffee cake which I split with Rich.  That made for way less guilt.

I have got to get new exercise shoes.  My old ones are caked in mud.  I have no recollection of how this happened, but they are permanently mucked-up.  No amount of patience on my part is going to get all that mud out.  So lately, I’ve been wearing my tennis shoes to work out.  That’s not working out (pun not origanally intended, but I’ll keep it).  I guess they squeeze my toes together a bit because if I have even the slightest bit of white toenail on my fourth toe, it cuts the side of my third toe.  I’ve had three workouts were I took my shoes off and discovered I had bloody socks.  Uh, gross.

I’m debating whether or not I want to add another lesson with Duke during the week.  I could add it during the Thursday morning public session because Ron and I are the only ones ever there.  Stephenie comes every once in a while, but sometimes her pesky job gets in the way.  Or I could add it on Fridays during a freestyle/dance session.  I don’t know which one is best.

Reasons for adding a lesson:

1.  Thursday to Monday is a long time to leave me to my own devices.  Most Monday’s it seems we have to take a step backwards and fix what I’ve bastardized before we can get on with it.

2.  I don’t have a partner that I can practice with.  Yes, I know working solo will make my skating stronger, but I do a lot of work solo already.  Thirty extra minutes of a coach and partner is not going to weaken my skating.  At least I don’t think it would.

3.  I think my progression would be faster, or if not faster, more complete.  What I mean by that is maybe I wouldn’t get to a certain level any quicker, but I think my skating at each level would be better.  For example, it takes time and practice to get progressives to not look like crossovers.  Mine are getting better, and they will continue to get better whether I add another lesson or not.  However, I think they’ll get better faster if I have him one more time a week.

4.  I was in ballet growing up and in college.  I had multiple classes and multiple teachers six days a week.  So three classes, three times a week still doesn’t seem like that much to me.

Reasons for not adding a lesson:

1.  It saves me $30.

2.  I will still progress.

3.  I’m an adult.  I’m not ever going to go to the Olympics in ice dancing (hey, archery is still in the mix!).  I don’t have to take lessons every day like my coach does.

4.  Soloing is good for me.  It makes me have to motivate myself.  It makes me work on getting all the way over on my edges without Duke pushing me onto them.  It will make me a stronger skater.

Rebuttal:

I really enjoy my lessons.  It’s the most fun I have all week.  I laugh and laugh and still accomplish good stuff.

Okay, speaking of skating, two people in my ballet class are at Nationals this week:  Charlotte Maxwell and Nick Traxler.  I’m so proud of how well they’re doing so far this week!  They’re both such nice people, and Nick brings such joy to ballet.  He cracks me up with his stories.  Charlotte is quieter than Nick, but also very funny in her own way.  She loves to dance and will do hip-hop stuff in between things at ballet.  That always makes me laugh, and then she starts to laugh.  She knows I’m not laughing at her – it’s a generational thing, as in I don’t get hip-hop, but I think it’s cute.  One thing I really like about them is that they seem to enjoy each other off-ice as well.  You definitely can’t say that about most teams!

I’m having trouble with the spell checker.  Sorry for any errors!

