My dentist appointment is today at 4:40.  Supposedly they’re only looking at the damage and then coming up with a plan for how to proceed.  Why do I feel like that’s a lie, and when I get there I’ll be strapped to a chair a la A Clockwork Orange and out will come my poor toothlette?  Mmm, dental nightmares, my favorite!  I don’t want to go, but I will.  I made the appointment, so now I have to show up.  Sure, I could cancel, but I won’t and only because of my vanity.  I don’t want to look at the bit of tooth that’s left because it’s just gnarly.  I don’t want anyone else to look at it because they’ll think I’m gross.  Can’t have that!  So see, here is a case where vanity is a good thing.  I am saving the world from seeing the horror that is my current mouth.  Nice of me, eh?  I do what I can.

Rich got the bookshelves up yesterday, yay!!!  I put the books on them because 90% of them are mine, and I have a specific way of putting them away.  It is NOT alphabetical.  I’d never find anything like that.  Instead, they are categorized by type of book – sci-fi/fantasy, general fiction that anyone would like, fiction for women (I refuse to say chick-lit because it’s not like that.  It’s more Margaret Atwood than Candace Bushnell – though both are represented), and my personal favorite, books my grandparents gave me that I haven’t read yet, but as I flipped through them yesterday I thought, wow, there is some really awesome stuff here.  For that category, I will have to be feeling intelligent.

And now some fodder for a new category on my blog: Politics.  I am so undecided right now.  I really like Barack Obama.  But I also really like Rudy Guiliani.  What is a girl to do?  Clearly I am not really worried about party affiliation at this point.  One thing I like about Guiliani is that I agree with him on both financial and social points which is something I can’t usually say about Republicans.  Obama, I just like him overall, even though I don’t know much about him.  All I know is that I don’t want Hillary Clinton or that dude from Arizona whose name escapes me at the moment.  Argh, that is frustrating.  A senior moment for me.  Great, and I’m not even 40.  Well, there’s lots of time to figure out this one.

