I’m sitting here waiting for the furniture delivery people to get here with our nightstands and pub table set.  I’m not sure which I’m more excited about, but I bet it’ll depend on which room I’m in at the time.

Without meaning to, I keep finding myself watching the Anna Nicole Smith trial.  These people are all sick, and I must be equally so to watch this misappropriation of justice.  Bozo the Judge is a joke.  I don’t know where he went to law school, but I think it might have just been in his own head.  This case is supposed to be about who gets to bury Ms. Smith where, not about drugs or paternity.  Those subjects have absolutely no bearing on the question of who gets custody of her body.  It’s totally out of control.  Incidentally, the judge (Larry Seidlin) was reportedly in talks to get his own courthouse show.  Good Lord, he just swore in a man over the phone whom he has NEVER met in person!  Shepard Smith said, “We have just entered a parallel universe!”  Truer words have never been spoken.  Oh, the man is Daniel Smith’s father.  How sad.  This is the kind of thing that does absolutely nothing for my faith in humanity.

 Don’t get me wrong – in general, I am very impressed with people and the hard decisions they make and the tough rows they hoe.  I mostly think that people are good and want to do good and make the world a better place.  But then sometimes, I have one of those days where I’m pretty sure I’m the only person in the grocery store who has never been to jail or cheated on their taxes or had a warrant out for their arrest.  Those are not good days.  I hope someday I’m able to live up to my own expectations for the rest of the world.  Rich tries to do something every day to make himself a better version of himself.  I’m not so good at that – I fall into old patterns and I make the same mistakes over and over.  It’s hard to change!  I want to, and I think we should all expect more of ourselves.  Think how amazing this world would be if we all did that!

I hope that wasn’t soap-boxy.  Knowing all of my own flaws, I don’t think I’m in any position to tell anyone else how to live or what to do with their lives. 

