On Friday after skating, I ran over to the bookstore with the intention to buy exactly two books, Einstein by Walter Isaacson and The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Moshin Hamid.  Unfotunately, I had time to kill before picking up the munchkin from school which meant I ended up with a bag filled with books.  I also bought Runners World Complete Book of Beginning Running by Amby Burfoot; Come Together, Fall Apart by Cynthia Henriquez; and Lipstick Jungle by Candace Bushnell.  Oh, by the way, I also ordered Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl from Amazon earlier this week (explanation to follow in a sec).  I do not need more books!  It’s a sickness – I’m addicted to buying new books.  This morning, while I was finally getting around to adding the new ones to the bookshelves, I decided to count the books I have that I haven’t read yet.  I didn’t include how-to books or guides.  Just novels.  Um, I have 106 books to read.  WTF???  That is sick!  I guess I think I have way more free time than I actually have for reading, or else I’m afraid I won’t remember to buy a certain book twenty years from now when I’m done with all these other books.  But really, how important is it to have Lipstick Jungle in my library?  The only consolation I have in all this is that most of the 106 unread books were not purchased by me – rather they were given to me by my grandparents when they sold their summer home.

The reason I bought Anne Frank is this: I was watching The Amazing Race, and one of the places they had to go was Auschwitz.  It was incredibly moving, and later I went online to read up on the subject.  I fell down the Wikipedia rabbit hole and ended up reading a bit about Anne Frank.  It’s been many years since I read her diary, so I decided to order it.  It sickens me that there are people out there who deny that the Holocaust happened.  They’re not even denying it because the numbers are so high that it’s hard to believe so many could be killed.  They deny it because, quite simply, they hate Jews.

