I’m in training at the rink, working in the figure skating office.  It’s an easy job which doesn’t take much time out of my schedule.  However, one of the things I have to do is take roll for each on-ice session.  What you do (and I might add that this has got to be one of the most inefficient things that this entirely inefficient operation does) is take a roll sheet and look at the people on the ice and write their names down.  Sounds simple enough, right?  But the reality is that all these kids look alike to me (less than five feet tall, little dress, ponytail).  I know the ice dancers since that’s what I do.  I know some of the kids because of having them in different off-ice classes.  The majority, though, heh.  I have no idea who these people are.  So you either have to call them over to get their names or go bug one of the coaches for names.  That’s just dumb.  Why can’t we put the sheet up at the ice entrance and have the kids sign themselves in?  Seems like a simple solution to me.  Then I would go check and see if the number of names matched the number of people, and if it didn’t, then I would start calling people over or checking with the coaches or whatever.  Then again, everyone else who works in the office has managed to learn all the kid’s names, so I guess I can too.

I have a monster headache, so that’s it for today.

