No, not a sado-masochist, just a garden-variety self-abuser.  I woke up at four in the morning with a horrible stomach ache.  I mean, I thought I might throw up, and I never barf.  Never!  I went back to sleep about an hour later, managing not to puke, yay, and finally rolled my old bones out of bed at 9:30 which is like soooooo late for me.  My stomach still hurts, but I’m watching the Food Network.  What is wrong with me?  Nigella is making something which involves white chocolate and whipped cream which are two of the things I ate yesterday, and two of the main culprits I hold responsible for my tummy ache.  I went to a baby shower that my mom was hosting, so I kind of had to eat the food.  She would’ve taken it personally if I hadn’t because that’s just the way she is.  Everything was delicious, but it was all creamy and rich and … ouch.

Well now Nigella’s got something going on with salmon topped pancakes (uh, yuck).  What happened to the chocolate and cream?  Where’d that go?  Apparently you have to pay attention to these shows.  They move fast.  Giada de Laurentis’s show is next.  I like that one, but I love Italian food, so there’s no surprise.  I heard she’s pregnant.  I think I was watching TMZ or something when I heard that.  There’s a show that’ll make you feel dirty.

I kind of feel sorry for celebrities sometimes.  I’d hate to be subjected to the level of scrutiny that they are.  Honestly, how they make it through an ordinary day with people following them around snapping photos, I don’t know.  I think I’d have to hire people to go shopping for me, or else I’d do it all on the internet.  I’m too shy to be a celebrity anyway.

Ah, I found the chocolate – it went into a white chocolate peppermint dessert thingee for Nigella’s party.  It had nothing to do with those weird salmon pancakes.  Sorry, that was random.

I finally gave in and ordered Christmas stockings on Friday.  I was going to make them – I have one that’s about 70% finished, but it’s impossible to work on it with the dog.  It was mostly made (like 69% finished) before I got the dog because he gets all up in the middle of everything I do.  For instance, right now, he’s standing on the couch with his face down in front of my monitor.  When I’m trying to needlepoint, in addition to having his face slobbering all over my project, he tries to eat the thread.  I think he’s part cat.  I wonder if he’ll ever outgrow this need to be involved in everything I do?  It drives me batshit loco.  He even follows me into the bathroom.  Eeewww!

Now I’m hungry.  Urgh!  I wish I had the stuff to make the salad that Giada’s making.  That looks good.  And there’s no lettuce in it, so it’s awesome!  It was cherry tomatoes, cucumber, cornbread, basil, lemon zest, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.  Oh, and Fontina cheese.  Easy enough.  Even I could make that, and I don’t eat food that doesn’t come straight out of a package.

One last thing and then I’m going to shut up and eat some oatmeal – I went to Starbucks yesterday, and I tried the sugar-free syrup Gingerbread Latte (also it was soy, no whip).  Gross.  I added two Splendas to it, and it was still nasty.  Never again!  I don’t know if it would be good with sugar syrup.  I’m going to make coffee at home today.  I have no intention of leaving this house until tomorrow!

