1) EGG NOG OR HOT CHOCOLATE?
Egg nog.  Although rum is still scary from the very bad incident many many years ago at Texas Tech.  It still makes me nauseous to smell the stuff.  My roommate and I got very drunk off rum and Cokes, and we went on a search for egg nog that night.  We were only able to find it in ice cream form, and we forgot about it and left it in her trunk overnight.  Oops!

2) DOES SANTA WRAP PRESENTS OR JUST SIT THEM UNDER THE TREE?
Santa leaves them under the tree unwrapped.  Santa also does not assemble toys as she is a lazy ass.  Luckily, Munchkin doesn’t believe in Santa anymore and is too old for assembly-required toys, so we just do it for fun.

3) COLORED LIGHTS ON ON TREE/HOUSE OR WHITE?
White.

4) WHO DO YOU WISH YOU COULD SEE AT CHRISTMAS?
I wish I could see the real Santa, or at least Buddy the Elf.

5) WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE HOLIDAY DISH (EXCLUDING DESSERT)?
Fluffy Pink Salad.  Nobody made it this year though.  I also love the marshmallow-covered yams.

6) WHEN DO YOU PUT YOUR CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS UP?
The weekend after Thanksgiving.

7) FAVORITE HOLIDAY MEMORY AS A CHILD?
Hang on, I’m thinking.  We only spent on Christmas at our own house, and that one was a lot of fun.  It was nice to be able to hang out with my friends on Christmas day.  We rode our new bikes.

8) WHEN AND HOW DID YOU LEARN THE TRUTH ABOUT SANTA?
I can’t remember.  I do know I believed longer than most of my friends, and they gave me hell for it.

9) DO YOU OPEN A GIFT ON CHRISTMAS EVE?
On the years we’re in Oklahoma, we do a “Dirty Santa” gift exchange with my grandmother’s sister and her family.  There were 33 of us this year, and we were missing seven people.  I have a big family.  Anyway, Dirty Santa is where you can steal gifts from other people, and they can steal yours, so Avi, get your mind out of the gutter!

10) HOW DO YOU DECORATE YOUR CHRISTMAS TREE?
Well, it’s already got lights on it (yeah, I have a fake tree, boo).  Then I hang the ornaments, most of which were gifts, but I buy a few each year.  Then sometimes I add fake poinsettias, but not this year – I put them in vases instead.  Then I hang the glass icicles and the candy canes.  Finally, I put the angel on top.

11) SNOW….LOVE IT OR HATE IT?
I love looking at it, but I hate driving in it.

12) CAN YOU ICE SKATE?
Depends on who you ask.  D would probably say “no”, but I’ll say yes since I do it every day.

13) DO YOU REMEMBER YOUR FAVORITE GIFT?
My parents gave me this ring one year that made me cry.  I think I’ve mentioned it before.  This year, they gave me the “Elegance on Ice” Lladro and that was my favorite gift.

14) WHAT IS THE MOST IMPORTANT THING ABOUT THE HOLIDAYS FOR YOU?
To be with my family.  I’ve already decided that if I ever get married again (ha!) that if my husband doesn’t want to spend every holiday with my family, then we’ll just spend our holidays apart.  Is there a man out there who will agree to that one?  It was always such an issue in my previous marriage.  But I’m sorry, his family was boring and they just sat around staring at each other while the clock went backwards.  I tried to get them to play games, but they just weren’t into it.

15) WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE HOLIDAY DESSERT?
Peppermint ice cream.

16) WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE HOLIDAY TRADITION?
We sing “The 12 Days of Christmas” while we do dishes and clean up the kitchen.  And we are not the Von Trapps.  It is just bad.

17) WHAT TOPS YOUR TREE?
The aforementioned angel.

18) WHICH DO YOU PREFER, GIVING OR RECEIVING?
I prefer giving.  I’m not just saying that – it’s really that I don’t need anything, and I usually enjoy finding stuff for other people that I think they’ll like.  This year was hard since I was so busy and then sick, but I think everyone liked their gifts from me, so I was happy.

19) WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CHRISTMAS SONG?
“The Christmas Song” and Julie Andrew’s version of “Hark, the Herald Angels Sing”.  It’s really beautiful. 

20) WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST AT CHRISTMAS?
I missed Robbie (my cousin who died of brain cancer this summer) a lot this year.  We never spent Christmas with her, but I thought so much about her and her kids (who have lost both parents) and the rest of her immediate family.  My aunt and I talked about her.  I also thought about this woman, Mona Lee, who I met at a convenience store in Oklahoma while on a bathroom break.  She lost her husband two years ago of brain cancer too.  It was weird – we just got to talking and ended up talking about Robbie and her late husband.  Then I had to go, and I felt horrible about leaving her there.  I wanted to take her to my grandparents with us, though she would’ve had to have been strapped to the roof of my car.

